Comparing TDA and TTS

Tacx Desktop Application for PC, IOS and Android

Moderators: nzuraw, mcorn

ATENEA
Balance Bike
Balance Bike
Location: In the mountains @ 5,000' when not by the sea in Mallorca or France
USER_FLAG: Spain

I have been using TDA for two months; previously I used TTS (since 2012, with a "non-smart" Genius).
I have switched to a NEO 2T and use both TDA and TTS with it.
With the NEO, I typically use a desktop PC with a 30+ inch screen; this is in the winter, at 5,000' altitude; too much snow to go on the road!
In spring and autumn, I am in a different location and use a Bushido with a portable PC (15" screen); that is when the weather is too bad to ride outside.
I typically ride 3,000 - 4,000 miles per year (inside and outside).

This is how I compare TDA and TTS (4.23.1)

TDA connections are stabler; with TTS I still experience the occasional "spikes and troughs" with heart rate;
The videos seem to run smoother with TDA than with TTS, but only marginally so;
The picture quality of TDA videos (720p) is not significantly superior to that of TDA;
The "widgets" and other information sources on the TDA screen are better than what TTS offers, but I could live without them (well, now that I am used to them, I wonder);
My collection of videos for TTS has many "rides" that are not yet available on TDA; the inverse is true, also;

In addition, I wonder what the "value" of 1080p videos is with TDA: after 15' I am sweating and clouding my glasses so much that I personally would not gain much from the higher definition.

So that's my 2-cents worth; any experiences other members of the forum would like to share?
Tacx Genius (non-smart), Tacx Bushido, Tacx Neo 2T
Garmin Edge 1000, Garmin Fenix 6S Pro
Windows 10
Malfukt
Team Manager
Team Manager
USER_FLAG: Great Britain

In addition, I wonder what the "value" of 1080p videos is with TDA: after 15' I am sweating and clouding my glasses so much that I personally would not gain much from the higher definition.